Originating from Sanskrit, it literally means “wheel” by association with its function as a vortex of spinning energy interacting with various physiological and neurological systems in the body. Chakras are energy centers within the human body that help to regulate all its processes, from organ function to to the immune system and emotions. We can commonly count 7 chakras positioned throughout your body, from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. Each chakra has its own vibrational frequency, that is depicted through a specific chakra color, and governs specific functions that help make you, well, human.

1. The Root Chakra – Red Color

The Root Chakra aka Muladhara

The Sanskrit word for this chakra is Muladhara or Mooladhara (mool means root). The chakra color associated with the Root Chakra is red. The Root Chakra defines our relation to Earth. It impacts our vitality, passion and survival instincts. The red chakra color is also indicative of our need for logic and order, physical strength and sexuality, as well as the fight or flight response when faced with danger. The sense of smell in the human body is connected to the Root Chakra. The gland to which the Root Chakra is attached is the gonads.

2. The Sacral Chakra – Orange Color

The Sacral Chakra aka Svadhishthana

The Sanskrit word for the Sacral Chakra is Svadhishthana or Swadhisthana. The chakra color associated with the Sacral Chakra is orange. The Svadhishthana chakra relates to the water element in the human body. The chakra color orange impacts sexuality, reproductive function, joy, desire and even creativity and compassion for others. The sense of Taste is associated with the Sacral Chakra. Glands and organs impacted by this chakra include the lymphatic system, female reproductive organs, large intestine, pelvis and bladder.

3. The Solar Plexus Chakra – Yellow Color

The Solar Plexus Chakra aka Manipura

The Sanskrit word for this chakra is Manipura, which literally translates to “city of jewels”. Thus, the Solar Plexus Chakra is the personal power chakra that is responsible for one’s personal and professional success. The chakra color yellow of this energy vortex is associated with fire, energy and charge. This element of fire, when balanced and harmonious, allows one to feel more confident, cheerful and energetic, along with a right amount of respect for self and others. Our sense of sight is associated with the Solar Plexus Chakra. The glands or organs associated with the Solar Plexus Chakra are the adrenal glands.

4. The Heart Chakra – Green Color

The Heart Chakra aka Anahata

The Anahata chakra or the Heart Chakra is associated with the chakra color green. This chakra influences our relationships and is related to the element of air. A weak Heart Chakra is responsible for sabotaging relationships through distrust, anger and envy. Sense of touch is impacted by the Heart Chakra and the glands connected to it are thymus and lymph.

5. The Throat Chakra – Blue Color

The Throat Chakra aka Vishuddha

The Vishuddha or Vishuddhi chakra refers to our true voice. As the name suggests, the Throat Chakra with its chakra color blue is associated with the ability to communicate and listen. The glands to which the Throat Chakra is attached are the esophagus, ears, throat, thyroid, jaws, teeth and neck vertebrae. The ethereal element of the Throat Chakra, when balanced, allows an individual to have a pleasant voice, artistic abilities, expressive ways and also the ability to be in a higher place spiritually. People with a balanced Throat Chakra are able to meditate well and use their energy efficiently and artistically.

6. The Third Eye Chakra – Indigo Color

The Third Eye Chakra aka Ajna

The Ajna chakra literally translates to “centre of knowing or monitoring”. This chakra is associated with the chakra color indigo and is connected to the pineal or pituitary gland. Those with a well-balanced Brow or Third Eye Chakra can have telepathic abilities, a charismatic personality and they often do not have any fear of death. The element of electricity or telepathy, along with the chakra color of indigo, are associated with our sense of Thought.

7. The Crown Chakra – Violet Color

The Crown Chakra aka Sahasrara

This chakra is known as the Sahasrara chakra in Sanskrit and is associated with the chakra colors of violet or purple. The Crown Chakra is associated with the pituitary gland, nervous system, and the brain and head region, with its element of light. In its balanced state, this chakra can render individuals the ability to perform miracles, transcend the laws of nature, and have a heightened awareness of death and immortality.

Cleansing The Aura

The aura is made up of electromagnetic energy that keeps attracting different energy particles towards us. The energies come from our environment and people around us. As much negative vibes are unwanted, excess of positive vibes can also be harmful to the aura especially when it makes a person anxious. For this reason, maintaining an aura energy balance becomes a necessity. At intervals, everyone is expected to undergo an aura cleansing and refreshing. There are different ways through which the aura can be cleansed.

  • The Use Of Sea Salt- add pure and unrefined sea salt to your Bath.
  • Music-Musical vibration can be used to cleanse your aura, harmonize the Etheridge body and balance the chakras.
  • Reiki- certain stones have magical properties that help us free ourselves from negative energy charge we accumulate during the day.
  • Sage Sticks- can envelop your entire aura, dusting off negative forces from the energy field.